Media Release

Back to top

Justice Bruce Lander to head South Australia’s first ICAC

Published on 19 Feb 2013

South Australia’s first Independent Commissioner Against Corruption will be Federal Court Judge Bruce Lander. Premier Jay Weatherill said that South Australia will have an outstanding first Commissioner.
“Justice Bruce Lander brings an enormous amount of experience and gravitas to the critical role of our first Commissioner,” Mr Weatherill said.

“This is an outcome of which South Australians can be rightly proud. “To have such a highly regarded Federal Court Judge head the South Australian ICAC will reaffirm confidence in the integrity of South Australia’s public offices.
“As Premier, I immediately undertook work with the Deputy Premier to establish an ICAC for South Australia.
“Late last year we passed the legislation and we have now appointed the first Commissioner.”

Deputy Premier and Attorney General John Rau said that Justice Lander was an outstanding candidate for the position of Commissioner.

“I am delighted to have a person of Justice Lander’s standing appointed to establish and oversee the ICAC and the Office of Public Integrity,” Mr Rau said.

“He will now begin assisting us with the establishment of the ICAC and will formally commence his appointment later in the year.

“The Statutory Officer’s Committee met early this morning and approved Justice Lander’s appointment.”

Justice Lander was admitted to the Supreme Court of South Australia in 1969 after completing articles with Baker McEwin & Co. He practiced as a solicitor at the same firm until 1982 when he joined the independent bar. Justice Lander was one of the founding members of Jeffcott Chambers. In 1986 he was appointed Queen’s Counsel. In November 1994, Justice Lander was appointed as Judge of the Supreme Court of South Australia.

In July 2003, he was appointed by former Prime Minister John Howard as Judge of the Federal Court of Australia, where he currently serves.

He has also served as an additional Judge of the Supreme Court of the Australian Capital Territory in 2004, Deputy President of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal and a Judge of the Supreme Court of Norfolk Island. • Twitter: @sa_press_sec